An Open Letter to MTV

We have today (18/10/12) sent the following open letter to MTV. Joint signatories include MPs from Wales and North East England, Welsh Assembly Members and leading Valleys Are Here campaigners.

Here is a link to the petition referred to in the letter:


Ms Kerry Taylor
SVP Director of Television
MTV Networks UK and Ireland

Thursday 18 October 2012

Dear Ms Taylor,

RE: Call on MTV to donate 5% of profits from ‘The Valleys’ to Valleys Kids
We are calling on MTV to donate 5% of the advertising profits from ‘The Valleys’ to youth charity Valleys Kids.

During the airing and promotion of this ‘constructed reality’ show, MTV has shown a flagrant disregard for the people and reputation of the Valleys, as was the case with ‘Geordie Shore’ in the North East.

Each of us has a proud association with these communities. As a result, we feel it is time that MTV began to show due respect for the people and areas that have been so crudely patronised and stereotyped. You can see from the attached petition that this call has already been supported by thousands of people from across the UK.

For MTV, and owners Viacom, 5% of the advertising profits from ‘The Valleys’ would represent a drop in the ocean. However, this donation would make a huge difference to a fantastic charity that genuinely supports young people from the Valleys to make the most of their talents.

We look forward to hearing from you. Any correspondence should be directed to

Yours Sincerely,

James Bevan, Co-founder, Valleys are Here
Alex Bevan, Co-founder, Valleys are Here
Carolyn Hitt, Journalist & Broadcaster
Jonny Owen, Actor
Rachel Trezise, Author
Margaret Jervis MBE & Richard Morgan MBE – Valleys Kids founders

Welsh MPs

Owen Smith, MP for Pontypridd and Shadow Secretary of State for Wales
Chris Bryant, MP for The Rhondda
Wayne David, MP for Caerphilly
Chris Evans, MP for Islwyn
Huw Irranca-Davies, MP for Ogmore
Rt Hon Paul Murphy, MP for Torfaen
Kevin Brennan, MP for Cardiff West
Stephen Doughty, MP for Cardiff South and Penarth

North East MPs

Rt Hon David Miliband, MP for South Shields
Sharon Hodgson, MP for the Washington and Sunderland West
Chi Onwurah, MP for Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Ian Lavery, MP for Wansbeck

Welsh Assembly Members

Christine Chapman, AM for Cynon Valley
Mike Hedges, AM for Swansea East
Ann Jones, AM for the Vale of Clwyd
Huw Lewis, AM for Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney
Peter Black, AM for South West Wales region
Lynne Neagle, AM for Torfaen
Gwenda Thomas, AM for Neath
Mick Antoniw, AM for Pontypridd


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s